Fake Listing Service Scam (DLSCORP.NET)
Today, I received a fake solicitation disguised as bill from the Domain Listing Service (a.k.a DLSCORP.NET, a.k.a, the Internet Listing Service). The solicitation, which looks like a bill in the amount of $65, promises domain submission to 25 major search engines (which can be done for free).
Surprisingly, various postings around the Internet suggest that there are quite a few people who fall for this scam, which is probably why it is still alive, even after several years.
Received the same scam in the mail today (11/16/07), only they are billing us $75.00. Since I handle ALL of our internet/website stuff I immediately knew it was a scam. I'm considering reporting it to my state's attorney general and the BBB.
Posted by
Anonymous |
November 16, 2007 7:55 PM
thanks, you just saved me $75.00. I thought it was a scam but decided to check out the internet for feedback.. thanks again!
VRH
Posted by
Anonymous |
November 17, 2007 6:23 PM
Thank you. I didn't realize by looking at it that it was a scam. i was going online to pay it when I saw this. Thanks for your help. (What goes around comes around you're due for some good karma now!)
Posted by
Anonymous |
November 22, 2007 10:24 AM
Thank you as well...I was about to press click to pay and then backtracked to this post saving me $75.
Posted by
Anonymous |
November 27, 2007 9:01 AM
I reported the company to the FTC also. Too bad these people can't be stopped.
Posted by
Cleareye |
December 10, 2007 1:40 PM
I got one of these too. The proper place to complain about it is the postal service as this is mail fraud and they occasionally actually do something about it. You can submit a complain online and they even have a specific category for this kind of directory service fraud.
http://postalinspectors.uspis.gov/forms/MailFraudComplaint.aspx
Posted by
Anonymous |
December 14, 2007 4:27 PM
Actually, I don't think this is illegal. They are doing exactly what they claim to be doing. Submitting the site to 25 search engines. You don't have to pay it. There is nothing that says you have to pay it... Just don't pay it! There is a part that states "This is not a bill. this is a solicitation. You are under no obligation to pay..."
Posted by
Anonymous |
December 25, 2007 1:18 AM
If enough people would charge this to their CC and then issue a chargeback shortly after DLS caputres the charge it will result in a chargeback. After 6% chargebacks most merchant banks will review the company and most likely yank their cc processing merchant account, basically putting a company like this out of business.
NM I just looked at the one they sent me and looks like they want ya to send a check...Blah, god dam scammers.
Posted by
Anonymous |
December 26, 2007 1:22 PM
Received a letter today (1/10/2008) for $75.00. Wasn't stupid enough to buy into it.
Posted by
Anonymous |
January 18, 2008 12:15 PM
Just got same delivered asking for $75.00. Even if it technically is not illegal, it still stinks and is there to suck you in to make a quick buck.
Posted by
Anonymous |
February 19, 2008 6:50 PM
Thanks for the warning. We received several of these fake invoices today. DLSCORP should be run out of business.
Posted by
Anonymous |
March 26, 2008 3:15 PM
almost fell for this. My bill does not list any disclaimers, looks like the real deal. Marvelous scam...where is it from?
benfromtexas
Posted by
benfromtexas |
April 3, 2008 11:18 AM
I received one also - it may not be a scam (the disclaimer on the back) but it's a clear exploitation of people's naivete'.
I say burn him at the stake.
Posted by
TheZealot |
April 9, 2008 10:38 PM
I just got one of these. I think that person has a great idea! It clearly states in capital letters it's a solicitation. I think people get mad because they don't pay attention (or read everything) and its their own dumb fault for sending this outfit money. More power to them! The fool and his money are soon parted LOL
Posted by
Anonymous |
April 10, 2008 10:11 AM
thank you soooooo much! you saved me!
Posted by
Anonymous |
May 19, 2008 11:15 AM
Hey there my fellow “almost scammed”. I too, have received the same letter as you (or one of the close variations of it).
I am encouraging any and all who have at one time or are currently receiving these letters to save all materials received, (the envelope with stamp, all documents enclosed, etc.) and get them to your local civic fraud department. If you are unsure as to how to reach them, just call your local police department and ask for their fraud department.
This kind of fraud is prolific and needs to be stopped. The perpetrators are of the lowest nature, however, they are getting very good at their trade. Lets all help to stop them in their tracks. That starts with each of us doing what we can locally. After a while, it will become harder and harder to pull off these scams.
Thanks for all of your posts… Change start with individuals like yourselves!!
Posted by
Anonymous |
June 29, 2008 11:53 PM