Yellow Pages Scam
Scamming small businesses must be exceptionally profitable these days. I received yet another fake invoice solicitation letter. The scam is always the same-- you are sent an real looking invoice (with or without the required "this is not a bill" verbiage).
Apparently, "Yellow Pages" and the walking logo are not trademarked, and anyone can use them in solicitations. Sure enough this company ATDYP, a fictitious name used by a company is New Jersey, is using them. If you read the small print, they are billing $49.50 per month, billed semiannually. That's a whopping $594 per year.
Don't do it. If you want your business listed in the "yellow pages" contact your local phone company that distributes the local edition.
Additionally, you can list your phone number for free so that it ends up in the directory assistance. I did this with my business's number. It was free and only took 30 minutes.
Don't be conned by these guys.
Labels: Small Business Scams
I apologize for the horrible impression received, which is not our intention. The "Invoice" appearance increases open ability and opportunities that otherwise may have been discarded in the trash. It states on our solicitation that "this is not a Bill". We offer great services and features at a low price. Once again, I am sorry for the ill feelings you have toward our company and our practices.
Thank you.
Heather Westover
Customer Service Manager
customerservice@yellowassistance.com
From: Joe Johanson [mailto:joejohanson11@yahoo.com]
Sent: Monday, September 22, 2008 2:31 PM
To: advertising@yellowassistance.com
Cc: resume@denver.bbb.org
Subject: FRAUD
You sent us a letter asking us to pay $289.00 You saui that your company is YELLOW ASSITANCE. located at 14145 Collections Center Drive Chicago , IL 60693, your fax 702-993-1726, HOWEVER, you are not a real company, you are a fraudulant company. Your informtion has been submitted to the authorities and you will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. You have done this to other companies and they have paid you thinking that you are the Yellow Pages. You will be caught!
Posted by
Anonymous |
October 15, 2008 2:25 PM
It is a scam. It was also rude to post private email complete with the person's email address on a blog.
Posted by
Joe Turner |
October 16, 2008 10:35 AM
Unfortunately, The Denver BBB (or any BBB in any city) is not exactly "the authorities". They are franchised operations that collect money from businesses so that they can get a sticker indicating they are part of the BBB. They have no enforcement power for consumers and has no affiliation with any government entity. It provides no services to businesses of any value, besides a happy feeling you're a member of the BBB and a 5 cent sticker. Some have called them the ultimate scammers that has been able to hide below the radar.
Posted by
Anonymous |
November 22, 2008 10:32 AM
These Guys are full on Scammers Be Aware! I have had a problem with this same company!
Posted by
Anonymous |
December 25, 2008 1:07 PM